everything AND the girl

July 11, 2013

One of my favorite bands was Everything But The Girl (EBTG):  not only because I enjoyed their music but I liked their lyrics; song and album titles; as well as their name (even if they were named after a shop that tries to sell almost everything, it just goes you that a purely commercial endevour cannot offer true love try as they might).   I last followed them with “Walking Wounded” and after that they became to “electronica”  for my taste:  their last album that I related to was “Amplified Heart.”

I think differently from my wife and we often do not agree save for some major things.  Even before, I was not the easiest bloke to get on with – much more to live with.   I would not  have blamed her for leaving – in fact I understand the reasons why.   Thankfully she has stuck around.

There is something about her that I cannot  put into words (not that it has stopped me from trying obviously).  To paraphrase the tagline from Gattaca (one of my favourite movies of all time):  there is no gene for the human soul.  She complements me: she is the yin to my yang.  I do not believe in perfection but she is damn near  close to an ideal partner for me – she does what she can and continues to smile despite our trying circumstances.  This is my much muted attempt to shout it from the rooftops:  surely this will last much longer than carving “I heart Rhoda” on a tree.

It does not matter how many times you tell other people – it is like the sound of a tree falling in the woods and no one hears – but to the actual object of your affection  You should tell the other person how you feel about them everyday – intellectually I understand but it is not in my nature. I know I do not say it nearly as often enough:  I love you.

2 Responses to “everything AND the girl”

  1. jeffersontan Says:

    Beautiful post, and not just because I’m a big EBTG fan either (Home Movies among my all time favorite albums of any group).


  2. Very well said… Yes, you really found your match in her! Don’t ever stop telling her you love her because I am sure she likes it even if you sound like a broken record.


Leave a Reply

